Grants and Funding

Funding recipients

Discrete Communities Planning Funding recipients 

About the grants  

The Discrete Communities Planning Funding is targeted at the 19 Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander discrete communities to support the delivery of planning activities to increase physical activity and the capacity for healthy eating.

$1.431 million of funding has been awarded to local government authorities to coordinate the delivery of planning activities that align with the delivery of sport and recreation activities, design and delivery of sport and recreation infrastructure, and increased food security or infrastructure that will enable healthier eating options. Supported projects are to be delivered by 30 June 2025. 

The Discrete Communities Planning Funding is being delivered in partnership by Health and Wellbeing Queensland and the Department of Tourism and Sport.

First Nations woman stocks supermarket fridge with red capsicums

Funding recipients

Local Government Authority Discrete Community Funding Amount (excluding GST)
Aurukun Shire Council   Aurukun $75,315 
Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council   Cherbourg   $75,315 
Cook Shire Council Coen   $75,315 
Doomadgee Aboriginal Shire Council   Doomadgee   $75,315 
Hope Vale Aboriginal Shire Council Hope Vale   $75,315 
Kowanyama Aboriginal Shire Council  Kowanyama   $75,315 
Lockhart River Aboriginal Shire Council   Lockhart River   $75,315 
Mapoon Aboriginal Shire Council   Mapoon   $75,315 
Mornington Shire Council  Mornington Island   $75,315 
Douglas Shire Council   Mossman Gorge   $75,315 
Napranum Aboriginal Shire Council Napranum  $75,315 
Northern Peninsula Area Regional Council   Northern Peninsula Area   $75,315 
Palm Island Aboriginal Shire Council   Palm Island   $75,315 
Pormpuraaw Aboriginal Shire Council   Pompuraaw  $75,315 
Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council   Woorabinda   $75,315 
Wujal Wujal Aboriginal Shire Council   Wujal Wujal  $75,315 
Yarrabah Aboriginal Shire Council   Yarrabah   $75,315 
Torres Strait Island Regional Council   Mer (Murray Island), Erub (Darnley Island), Ugar (Stephen or Stephens Island), Iama (Yam Island), Masig (Yorke Island), Warraber (Sue Island), Poruma (Coconut Island), Badu (Mulgrave Island), Arkai (Kubin), Wug (St Pauls), Mabuyag (Jervis Island), Kirriri (Hammond Island), Saibai (Saibai Island), Boigu (Talbot Island), Dauan (Mt Cornwallis Island)   $75,315 
Torres Shire Council   Muralag (Prince of Wales), Nurupai (Horn Island), Waiben (Thursday Island), Gealug (Friday Island)   $75,315 


If you have any questions regarding the Discrete Communities Funding Program please email